The Science Schools Foundation is a voluntary non-profit organisation that includes representatives of Rotary, Young Scientists of Australia, industrialists and educationalists; and is responsible for the organisation of The ConocoPhillips Science Experience programs Australia-wide.

YSA Melbourne works closely with the Science Schools Foundation to provide support to the planning and organization of The ConocoPhillips Science Experience programs Australia-wide. YSA Melbourne acts as a national representative for YSA on the Science Schools Foundation steering committee, in order to facilitate transparent communications and operations planning nationally.


The ConocoPhillips Science Experience

The Science Experience is a program run by the Science Schools Foundation and various universities for students in Years 9 and 10. The idea of the three day program is to help students who are interested in science gain an understanding of what it is like to study or work in a variety of fields.

YSA provides volunteer staff at these programs, who are responsible for groups of around 10 students for the program and help them not only understand the content but bond and get excited about science. YSA Melbourne is currently involved in Six Science Experiences at: The University of Melbourne Parkville, Monash University Clayton, The Swinburne University of Technology, Federation University Australia, Penshurst Volcanoes Discovery Centre and The Univerity of Melbourne Dookie.

Every year YSA Melbourne is pleased to continue to grow and support the various iterations of The Science Experience across Victoria. These programs are great ways to help young people get their hands dirty with cool experiments, meet new friends who love science just like them and find out about pathways into science.

Volunteer staff opportunities are advertised to the YSA membership in July and September every year, so please check back then!